News Flash: Bananas Down, Petrol Up

'Cavendish' bananas are the main commercial cu...

Image via Wikipedia

Just a lightning quick post today.

I couldn’t believe what I read in the article “Banana Prices Set to Drop” by the Herald Sun 19 October 2011, so I had to check it out for myself. I went to the shops earlier today and as the article correctly reported bananas were $7.99 a kilo!

I splurged and bought 3 for $4.95 or a mere $1.65 apiece . Yum! There may be hope for getting this bright yellow staple back into the fruit bowl and lunch bags soon.

The down side is gasoline/petrol is at a 4 month high at $1.50/litre (for my US readers, this is roughly $5.70/gallon given current exchange rate). So my trip to the grocery and to fill up the car (over $100!) emptied my wallet.

If you are a new Australian expat, there are a few websites to help you find the cheapest petrol in your neighbourhood, so you don’t have to drive around and waste money and time looking for a good price. One of them is Motormouth.com.au. Instead you can use this saved money and buy more bananas (or maybe be able to get to work without breaking the bank)!

This entry was posted in Food, Resources and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to News Flash: Bananas Down, Petrol Up

  1. thedailydish says:

    Under $2 bucks a banana!! Too bad the hoking gas money eats away the savings..

  2. sliceofshanghai says:

    At least some price went down!
    I’m sure new expats will find the resources you put out there very useful.

What do you think? Comment here:

